Star show for ages 6 and older. About 60 minutes

Could there be planets like ours going around other stars? Until recently we could do little more than guess. But now, thanks to advances in technology and persistent work by astronomers, the evidence is in: planets are probably the rule rather than the exception. NASA's amazing Kepler space telescope collected over 3500 planet candidates, many in multiple planet systems, during its three-year mission. Other instruments here on Earth cross-check and make additional discoveries. Citizen scientists help analyze mountains of data as we hunt for the ultimate quarry: an Earth-size planet in the "Goldilocks zone" of its sun.

In the second half of the show, the Planetarium's mighty star projector rises on its elevator and we take a tour of stars, constellations and planets appearing in the real sky this winter and spring.

Please note -- there is no late seating once a show has begun. If you leave during the show there is no way to re-enter. Thank you for your cooperation. Online ticket sales end 24 hours before showtime. Tickets can be purchased at the Museum reception desk or Planetarium box office the day of the show.

RMSC Strasenburgh Planetarium
657 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607



Upcoming Show Times
Saturday, April 26, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, May 03, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Sunday, May 04, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, May 10, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, May 17, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, May 24, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, May 31, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Sunday, June 01, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, June 07, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, June 14, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, June 21, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Saturday, June 28, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets
Monday, June 30, 2014  1:00 PM Buy tickets